International Infopage for Ashtanga Yoga

Cheat sheets for the Ashtanga yoga series (PDF)

The perfect cheat sheet to place next to your yoga mat: Asana sequences in a small and practical format for downloading and printing. These cheat sheets contain photos of the fundamental poses as well as pictures of the first, second and third Ashtanga yoga series.

Traditionelle Form

Ashtanga Yoga in it’s traditional form, as taught by the late Sri. K. Pattabhi Jois. – Today this is the practice that is most common around the world.

  • MantraTraditional Mantras are chanted at the beginning and the ending of every Aṣṭāṅga Yoga practice.Filesize: 51 K
    File Name: Mantren.pdf
  • Surya Namaskara A & BThe sun salutation (Sūrya Namaskāra) forms the foundation of Aṣṭāṅga Yoga practice. Here you will establish the calm rhythm of breathing (Ujjāyī) direction of Energy (Bandha) and concentration (Ḍṛṣti). The powerful flow of a moving meditation is born.Filesize: 494 K
    File Name: SuryaNamaskar.pdf
  • Finishing SequenceThe finishing sequence guides the practitioner in Aṣṭāṅga Yoga to an energetic culmination. The breathing (Ujjāyī) calms down, muscle contractions (Bandha) become subtle and concentration (Ḍṛṣti) turns inward.Filesize: 518 K
    File Name: Schlusssequenz.pdf
  • Fundamental PositionsThe fundamental positions (Āsana) tune the physical and energetic body to balance (Alignment). The dynamic of the sun salutations transform to new forms of movement. (Vinyāsa).Filesize: 595 K
    File Name: FundamentalPositions-EN.pdf
  • Primary SeriesThe sequence of the first series of the Ashtanga Yoga is an extension of the previous sequence of exercises, requiring a higher level of strength, flexibility and stamina. It will take some practice to acquire it.Filesize: 1.1 M
    File Name: Erste-Serie.pdf
  • Intermediate SeriesThe sequence of the second series takes it even further. This level of practice can often be achieved after about two years of daily practice.Filesize: 1.4 M
    File Name: Intermediate-Series_en.pdf
  • Advanced SeriesThe advanced sequence of the Ashtanga Yoga, the third series, demands a high degree of strength and flexibility. A lot of practice and endurance is neccessary to learn it.Filesize: 135 K
    File Name: 04-Ashtanga-Yoga-Series3.pdf

Variante nach BNS Iyengar

In it’s essence the series taught by Sri K. Pattabhi Jois and BNS Iyengar are same. But in details we will find some minor differences. Here you will find Ashtanga Yoga as taught by BNS Iyengar (from Mysore):