Familiar with the primary series? - intermediate Series, also Shodhana Nadi (Nadi Sodhana), opens with 40 yoga asanas, an energetic dimension of Ashtanga Yoga.

Traditional Practice Series




Frog Position

Pashasana [thumb mini] Krounchasana [thumb mini] Shalabhasana  [A] [thumb mini] Shalabhasana  [B] [thumb mini] Bhekasana [thumb mini solar] Dhanurasana [thumb mini] Parshva  Dhanurasana [thumb mini] Way In [thumb mini] Ushtrasana [thumb mini] Laghu-Vajrasana [thumb mini]

Bheka (भेक, Bheka) = Frog
Asana (आसन, Āsana) = Pose, Seat, Posture
Bhekasana (भेकासन, Bhekāsana) = Frog-Posture

Vinyāsa breath Dr̥ṣṭi explanation of movement
1 IN bhrūmadhye raise arms overhead
2 EX nāsāgre spread fingers, hinging at the hip fold forward, hands to ground Uttanasana (उत्तानासन, Uttānāsana)
3 IN bhrūmadhye come half-way up with straight spine, lift head
4 EX nāsāgre hands down, float back, ellbows close to chest Chaturanga Dandasana (चतुराङ्ग दण्डासन, Caturāṅga Daṇḍāsana)
5 IN lift the feet off the floor
(EX) grab feet, turn the hands, bring fingers and toes left and right down towards the floor at the outside of your hip
(IN) open your chest wide
5BR nāsāgre Bhekasana (भेकासन, Bhekāsana)
(EX) nāsāgre lower down slowly, elbows close to the body, Chaturanga Dandasana (चतुराङ्ग दण्डासन, Caturāṅga Daṇḍāsana)
6 IN bhrūmadhye roll on tops of feet, open the chest, straighten arms, Urdhva Mukha Shvanasana (ऊर्ध्व मुख श्वानासन, Ūrdhva Mukha Śvānāsana)
7 EX nābicakre tuck toes, push back, lift hips, straight arms, Adho Mukha Shvanasana (अधो मुख श्वानासन, Adho Mukha Śvānāsana)
8 IN bhrūmadhye jump feet between hands, straighten the spine half way up, lift your head,
9 EX nāsāgre bring chest all the way in, Uttanasana (उत्तानासन, Uttānāsana)
- IN bhrūmadhye lift the head again, straighten spine, palms or finger tips remain on the ground
EX nāsāgre stand all the way up, arms on sides, Samasthitih (समस्थितिः, Samasthitiḥ)

legend for the Vinyāsa table:

  • The grey part of the table is performed in Aṣṭāṅga-Yoga practice.
  • Yellow marked is the position depicted on the photo.
  • Vinyāsa:1 = ekam; 2 = dve; 3 = trīṇi; 4 = catvāri; 5 = pañca; 6 = ṣaṭ; 7 = sapta; 8 = aṣṭau; 9 = nava; 10 = daśa; 11 = ekādaśa; 12 = dvādaśa; 13 = trayodaśa; 14 = caturdaśa; 15 = pañcadaśa; 16 = ṣoḍaśa; 17 = saptadaśa; 18 = aṣṭadaśa; 19 = ekonavimśatiḥ; 20 = vimśatiḥ; 21 = ekāvimśatiḥ; 22 = dvāvimśatiḥ; 23 = trayovimśatiḥ; 24 = caturvimśatiḥ; 25 = pañcavimśatiḥ; 26 = ṣoḍavimśatiḥ; 27 = saptavimśatiḥ; 28 = aṣṭovimśatiḥ
  • breath: IN = Inhalation; EX = exhalation; 5BR = five breaths
  • Dr̥ṣṭi: nāsāgre = to the nose; añguṣṭhamadhye = to the middle of the thumb; bhrūmadhye = in the middle of the eye brows; nābicakre = to the navel; ūrdhvadr̥ṣṭi = upwards; hastāgre = to the tip of the hand; pādayoragre = to the tip of the foot; pārśvadr̥ṣṭi = sidewards