Familiar with the primary series? - intermediate Series, also Shodhana Nadi (Nadi Sodhana), opens with 40 yoga asanas, an energetic dimension of Ashtanga Yoga.

Traditional Practice Series

Tittibhasana [A]

टिट्टिभासन [अ]

Ṭiṭṭibhāsana [A]

Way Out [thumb mini] Dvi-Pada Shirshasana [thumb mini] Way Out [thumb mini] Yoga-Nidrasana [thumb mini] Tittibhasana   [A] [thumb mini solar] Tittibhasana [B] [thumb mini] 5 steps forward [thumb mini] 5 steps backward [thumb mini] Tittibhasana ["] [thumb mini] Pincha Mayurasana [thumb mini]
Tittibhasana   [A]

Tittibha (टिट्टिभ, Ṭiṭṭibha) = a little bird living along the coast line; sometimes also: firefly, insect.
Asana (आसन, Āsana) = Pose, Posture, Seat
Tittibhasana (टिट्टिभासन, Ṭiṭṭibhāsana) = Posture-of-the-Tittibha-Bird

Tittibha (टिट्टिभ, Ṭiṭṭibha) - the little bird and the sea

An ancient tale from the Panchatantra (पञ्चतन्त्र, Pañcatantra) tells the story of a little pair of Tittibha (टिट्टिभ, Ṭiṭṭibha)-birds. The book was composed between the 2^nd and 3^rd century AD. The fairy tale appears again later in the Hitopadesha (हितोपदेश, Hitopadeśa), a Sanskrit (संस्कृत्, Saṁskr̥t)-book of fairy-tales from the 12th century AD. The fable tells us the story of an extraordinary quarrel:

Once upon a time, a pair of Tittibha (टिट्टिभ, Ṭiṭṭibha)-birds lived along the sea coast. When the time for the female Tittibha (टिट्टिभ, Ṭiṭṭibha)-bird came near to lay her eggs, she asked her husband to find a suitable place to make a nest. He briefly pondered the issue and replied: "Here is the right place for our nest and our eggs". The female Tittibha (टिट्टिभ, Ṭiṭṭibha) thought differently und told him to consider that the sea was quite close. In case of high tide the place would be flooded and the sea would drag off their eggs. But the male Tittibha (टिट्टिभ, Ṭiṭṭibha) assured his wife that even the sea respected his power so it would never dare steal the eggs. The female bird kept lamenting and emphasized that the little birds were helpless against the sea, but she had to yield in the end. The female laid her eggs in the nest close to the sea.
The sea had eavesdropped on the conversation sneeringly. It took the first opportunity and flooded the sea coast and swallowed the eggs. The female Tittibha (टिट्टिभ, Ṭiṭṭibha) wept bitterly. But the male skt~.Ti.t.tibha~~ stayed calm and promised to bring back the eggs. He called a meeting of all birds and reported to the Lord of Birds, Garuda, what had happened: "We lived peacefully at the seacoast, we did not harm anyone and even so the sea swallowed our eggs."
Garuda was touched and angry at the injustice of the sea's behaviour. Immediately he went to Lord Vishnu and described what had happened. Lord Vishnu turned to the sea and demanded that it should give back the eggs. No one dares to disobey orders of a God and so even the ocean trembled with fear under Vishnu's fury. So it happened that the sea gave back the eggs hastily and in person (Hitopadesha) to the pair of Tittibha (टिट्टिभ, Ṭiṭṭibha)birds.
And so, up to now , the little Tittibha (टिट्टिभ, Ṭiṭṭibha)-birds are nesting and raising their young at the sea coast.

The story is often used as a symbol of yoga. The sea with its might and power represents the power of illusion, ignorance and prejudice or the general Chitta (चित्त, Citta), i.e. all aspects of human existence subject to change. The small Tittibha (टिट्टिभ, Ṭiṭṭibha)-bird stands for the effort of the yogi, an effort which seems ineffectual when compared with the challenge. But just as the little Tittibha (टिट्टिभ, Ṭiṭṭibha)-bird succeeds in spite of seeming superiority, the yogi can calm Chitta (चित्त, Citta) through pratice and shatter illusion.

Vinyāsa breath Dr̥ṣṭi explanation of movement
1 IN añguṣṭhamadhye raise arms overhead
2 EX nāsāgre spread fingers, hinging at the hip fold forward, hands to ground Uttanasana (उत्तानासन, Uttānāsana)
3 IN bhrūmadhye come half-way up with straight spine, lift head
4 EX nāsāgre hands down, float back, ellbows close to chest Chaturanga Dandasana (चतुराङ्ग दण्डासन, Caturāṅga Daṇḍāsana)
5 IN bhrūmadhye roll on tops of feet, open the chest, straighten arms, Urdhva Mukha Shvanasana (ऊर्ध्व मुख श्वानासन, Ūrdhva Mukha Śvānāsana)
6 EX nābicakre tuck toes, push back, lift hips, straight arms Adho Mukha Shvanasana (अधो मुख श्वानासन, Adho Mukha Śvānāsana)
7 IN nāsāgre jump forward balancing on straight arms, bend legs in the air
(EX) place straight legs on your upper arms
5BR nāsāgre Tittibhasana [A] (टिट्टिभासन [अ], Ṭiṭṭibhāsana [A])
8 EX lift buttocks, legs stay straight, place feet on the floor into Tittibhasana [B] (टिट्टिभासन [ब्], Ṭiṭṭibhāsana [B])
9 (IN) lift foot, walk 5 steps forward and 5 steps back
(EX) place foot on the floor
(IN) nāsāgre come back into Tittibhasana [B] (टिट्टिभासन [ब्], Ṭiṭṭibhāsana [B])
EX grab your ankles
5BR nāsāgre Tittibhasana ["] (टिट्टिभासन ["], Ṭiṭṭibhāsana ["])
10 IN lower your hip, lift feet in Tittibhasana [A] (टिट्टिभासन [अ], Ṭiṭṭibhāsana [A])
11 EX bend the legs in Bakasana (बकासन, Bakāsana)
(IN) nāsāgre lift up balancing on straight arms, bend legs in the air
12 EX nāsāgre lower down slowly, elbows close to the body, Chaturanga Dandasana (चतुराङ्ग दण्डासन, Caturāṅga Daṇḍāsana)
13 IN bhrūmadhye roll on tops of feet, open the chest, straighten arms, Urdhva Mukha Shvanasana (ऊर्ध्व मुख श्वानासन, Ūrdhva Mukha Śvānāsana)
14 EX nābicakre tuck toes, push back, lift hips, straight arms, Adho Mukha Shvanasana (अधो मुख श्वानासन, Adho Mukha Śvānāsana)
15 IN bhrūmadhye jump feet between hands, straighten the spine half way up, lift your head,
16 EX nāsāgre bring chest all the way in, Uttanasana (उत्तानासन, Uttānāsana)
- IN bhrūmadhye lift the head again, straighten spine, palms or finger tips remain on the ground
EX nāsāgre stand all the way up, arms on sides, Samasthitih (समस्थितिः, Samasthitiḥ)

legend for the Vinyāsa table:

  • The grey part of the table is performed in Aṣṭāṅga-Yoga practice.
  • Yellow marked is the position depicted on the photo.
  • Vinyāsa:1 = ekam; 2 = dve; 3 = trīṇi; 4 = catvāri; 5 = pañca; 6 = ṣaṭ; 7 = sapta; 8 = aṣṭau; 9 = nava; 10 = daśa; 11 = ekādaśa; 12 = dvādaśa; 13 = trayodaśa; 14 = caturdaśa; 15 = pañcadaśa; 16 = ṣoḍaśa; 17 = saptadaśa; 18 = aṣṭadaśa; 19 = ekonavimśatiḥ; 20 = vimśatiḥ; 21 = ekāvimśatiḥ; 22 = dvāvimśatiḥ; 23 = trayovimśatiḥ; 24 = caturvimśatiḥ; 25 = pañcavimśatiḥ; 26 = ṣoḍavimśatiḥ; 27 = saptavimśatiḥ; 28 = aṣṭovimśatiḥ
  • breath: IN = Inhalation; EX = exhalation; 5BR = five breaths
  • Dr̥ṣṭi: nāsāgre = to the nose; añguṣṭhamadhye = to the middle of the thumb; bhrūmadhye = in the middle of the eye brows; nābicakre = to the navel; ūrdhvadr̥ṣṭi = upwards; hastāgre = to the tip of the hand; pādayoragre = to the tip of the foot; pārśvadr̥ṣṭi = sidewards