Familiar with the primary series? - intermediate Series, also Shodhana Nadi (Nadi Sodhana), opens with 40 yoga asanas, an energetic dimension of Ashtanga Yoga.

Traditional Practice Series

Way Out

Way Out

Mayurasana [thumb mini] Way Out [thumb mini] Way Out [thumb mini] Way Out [thumb mini] Way Out [thumb mini solar] Nakrasana [thumb mini] Way In [thumb mini] Way In [thumb mini] Way In [thumb mini] Way In [thumb mini]
Way Out
Vinyāsa breath Dr̥ṣṭi explanation of movement
1 IN bhrūmadhye take feet shoulder wide apart
(EX) place hands between the feet, fingers point backwards
(IN) head stays lifted, straight back
2 EX nāsāgre head between the arms
3 IN bhrūmadhye lift your head up again
4 EX jump back, bend the elbows close to the body, balance the weight evenly on your elbows
5 IN nāsāgre Mayurasana (मयूरासन, Mayūrāsana)
(EX) place feet down on the floor again
6 IN bhrūmadhye straighten the arms, open the chest wide into Urdhva Mukha Shvanasana (ऊर्ध्व मुख श्वानासन, Ūrdhva Mukha Śvānāsana) with hands turned the other way
7 EX nābicakre roll over the feet into Adho Mukha Shvanasana (अधो मुख श्वानासन, Adho Mukha Śvānāsana)with hands turned the other way
8 IN bhrūmadhye jump to the front, take feet left and right next to the hands and fingers pointing back
9 EX nāsāgre take your head deep between the arms
- IN bhrūmadhye lift the head up
(EX) nāsāgre hands to waist, come up, bring feet together in ~Samasthiti.h~~

legend for the Vinyāsa table:

  • The grey part of the table is performed in Aṣṭāṅga-Yoga practice.
  • Yellow marked is the position depicted on the photo.
  • Vinyāsa:1 = ekam; 2 = dve; 3 = trīṇi; 4 = catvāri; 5 = pañca; 6 = ṣaṭ; 7 = sapta; 8 = aṣṭau; 9 = nava; 10 = daśa; 11 = ekādaśa; 12 = dvādaśa; 13 = trayodaśa; 14 = caturdaśa; 15 = pañcadaśa; 16 = ṣoḍaśa; 17 = saptadaśa; 18 = aṣṭadaśa; 19 = ekonavimśatiḥ; 20 = vimśatiḥ; 21 = ekāvimśatiḥ; 22 = dvāvimśatiḥ; 23 = trayovimśatiḥ; 24 = caturvimśatiḥ; 25 = pañcavimśatiḥ; 26 = ṣoḍavimśatiḥ; 27 = saptavimśatiḥ; 28 = aṣṭovimśatiḥ
  • breath: IN = Inhalation; EX = exhalation; 5BR = five breaths
  • Dr̥ṣṭi: nāsāgre = to the nose; añguṣṭhamadhye = to the middle of the thumb; bhrūmadhye = in the middle of the eye brows; nābicakre = to the navel; ūrdhvadr̥ṣṭi = upwards; hastāgre = to the tip of the hand; pādayoragre = to the tip of the foot; pārśvadr̥ṣṭi = sidewards