The second Chapter of Patanjali’s Yoga Sutras - contains instructions for our Practice - Sadhana Pada.



Sentence 32

shaucha santosha tapah svadhyay-eshvarapranidhanani niyamah ||32||

शौच संतोष तपः स्वाध्यायेश्वरप्रणिधानानि नियमाः ॥३२॥

śauca saṁtoṣa tapaḥ svādhyāy-eśvarapraṇidhānāni niyamāḥ ॥32॥

Cleanliness (shaucha), contentment (santosha), self-discipline (tapas), learning from yourself (svadhyaya) and accepting your fate (iishvara-pranidhana) automatically translate into the practice of respect (niyama). ||32||

śauca = (iic.) inner and outer purity and cleanliness
saṁtoṣa = (iic.) contentment
tapaḥ = (acc. sg. n./nom. sg. n.) austerity; self-discipline
svādhyāya = (iic.) self-knowledge; learning from yourself; listening to yourself; paying heed to yourself
īśvara = (iic.) the personal God
praṇidhānāni = (acc. pl. n./nom. pl. n. ) devotion; trust
īśvara-praṇidhānāni = (acc. pl. n./nom. pl. n.) devotion to God; accepting one’s fate
niyamāḥ = (nom. pl. m. from niyama) rules of conduct vis-à-vis others


Niyama, which is systematically built on yama, means “respect toward oneself” or “rules of conduct vis-à-vis others.” Niyama teaches you how to treat yourself respectfully, based on fundamental guidelines that help you to deal with yourself and that are indispensable for a healthy and successful life.

Contact Cart
Your shopping cart is loading...