The third chapter of Patanjali’s Yoga Sutras instructs us about the progression of our practice - Vibhuti Pada.



Sentence 12

tatah punah shatoditau tulya-pratyayau chittasya-ikagrata-parinamah ||12||

ततः पुनः शातोदितौ तुल्यप्रत्ययौ चित्तस्यैकाग्रतापरिणामः ॥१२॥

tataḥ punaḥ śātoditau tulya-pratyayau cittasya-ikāgratā-pariṇāmaḥ ॥12॥

The transition to one-pointedness, or ekagrata-parinamah, is the transition whereby human mutability (chitta) becomes perfectly balanced between arising and subsiding. ||12||

tataḥ = (adv. from tatas) then
punaḥ = (adv./conj. from punar) again
śāntā = (per. fut. sg. 3. from śā) tranquil; subsiding
uditau = (acc. du. m./nom. du. m. udita) stated; ascended
tulya = (iic.) identical; similar
pratyayau = (acc. du. m./nom. du. m.) thought; impression
cittasya = (g. sg. m./g. sg. n. from citta) all that is mutable in humankind; mind
ekātmatā = (nom. sg. f.) aggregation; concentration; one-pointedness
pariṇāmaḥ = (nom. sg. m., pariṇāma) transition; change; evolution

Ekagrata-parinama is the final transition of our consciousness, whereby the three stages of samyama (dharana, dhyana and samadhi) are completed, resulting in attainment of a state of enlightenment (samadhi) even if outer circumstances change.

Contact Cart
Your shopping cart is loading...