The third chapter of Patanjali’s Yoga Sutras instructs us about the progression of our practice - Vibhuti Pada.



Sentence 9

vyutthana-nirodha-sanskarayoh abhibhava-pradurbhavau nirodhaksana chittanvayo nirodha-parinamah ||9||

व्युत्थाननिरोधसंस्कारयोः अभिभवप्रादुर्भावौ निरोधक्षण चित्तान्वयो निरोधपरिणामः ॥९॥

vyutthāna-nirodha-saṁskārayoḥ abhibhava-prādurbhāvau nirodhakṣaṇa cittānvayo nirodha-pariṇāmaḥ ॥9॥

That high level of mastery called nirodhah-parinamah occurs in the moment of transition when the rising tendency of deep impressions, the subsiding tendency, and the mutable nature of humankind (chitta) converge. ||9||

vyutthāna = (iic.) disjointedness
nirodha = (iic.) tranquility
saṁskārayoḥ = (loc. du. m./g. du. m. from saṁskāra) impression based on past experience
abhi = (prep.)
abhibhava = (imp. 1, sg. 2) to overcome; to disappear
prāduḥ = (adv.)
bhāvau = (acc. du. m./ nom. du. m., bhāva) to ascend; to appear
nirodha = (iic.) tranquility
kṣaṇa = (voc. sg. m., k. sa. na.) situation; moment
citta = (iic.) all that is mutable in human beings; mind
anvaya = connection with; relationship
nirodha = (iic.) tranquility
pariṇāmaḥ = (nom. sg. m., pariṇāma) transition; change; evolution

Patanjali is referring here to the transitions between the various steps of dharana, dhyana and samadhi. After dharana, or concentration, you transition to dhyana, i.e. contemplation while in a state of nirodha-parinama. This constitutes the transition to tranquility.

Contact Cart
Your shopping cart is loading...