Power, ego and monkey mind - AYI® Teacher Trainer Tanja Launicke took some time to sit down and tell us about her path to Ashtanga Vinyasa and what is it about AYI® that stands out for her the most.

Network

Sabine: Running, cycling, functional training and fitness classes in studios - by looking at your sports profile one might get the impression they are reading about a real-life superwoman. How does that connect with yoga? Or rather, how did you find yourself on the yoga path?

Tanja: (laughing) You can add swimming, rowing (indoor) and cross country skiing to the list. Yes, I am full of power and energy! I actually came upon Ashtanga yoga by chance. But it is really a perfect match for me: I am able to build physical strength during the practice in a very focused way. The result is physical wellbeing and mental calm. In other words, a perfect symbiosis!

My yoga path actually started through Pilates. I have 25 years experience in group fitness instruction. It began with Aerobics/Step classes and then I branched out to whatever the most modern modality was at the time. Bodystyling, or whatever it was called back in the day, to barbell training, Spinning, Fatburner and such. Then I came upon Pilates, which really relieved some of the knee and back complaints I had as a result of repetitive strain from teaching all of these other fitness classes. This planted the seed for me. I was ready to move away from loud, motivating beats to a calmer, more inner-focused practice. Then, after trying a yoga class for the first time I realized that there was something very unique about that experience. I was fixed. It was so energizing to feel so complete and so present all at once. It was as if I were previously a stopped up drain which had at once become unclogged. I had to learn more. How it made a positive impact on me sexually is another story which I will save for day. I had always felt that despite training hard and eating well that something was missing in my life. Auto