Asthanga, Mysore, magic and what yoga is essentially all about – AYI® talks to Andrew Eppler

Network

Mysore Special Week: Andrew is teaching with Ronald and Melanie in the AYI Ulm from 13 to 16 September 2016.

Further information and registration per e-mail to Melanie.

Sabine: Andrew, you were quite young when you started practicing yoga. Did you start with Asthanga Yoga right away or did you practise any other forms first/in addition to Ashtanga? How did it feel practising with your father – especially at an age when a lot of other kids probably have anything on their mind but getting onto the mat with one of their parents?

Andrew: I was 14 years old when I started practicing Ashtanga Yoga. I had no other exposure to yoga than Ashtanga Vinyasa and Primary Series. I owe my entrance into the practice entirely to my father. Cliff Barber is a little known ascetic and an old friend of my father’s. He taught us Primary Series in 1985.

My father and I always had a close relationship and we were used to running together each morning before we began learning yoga. Somehow he impressed on me that discipline was a kind of power. He inspired me to believe that it was cool to be disciplined. There was never any pressure to do anything. I simply enjoyed spending the time with him. All my life I had watched him sitting at his candle and doing various things, including running. I wanted to be like him. And for sure I owe the consistency of my practice to him! At age 14 I certainly did not know the implications of what I was doing or that it would be a lifelong path for me. I just wanted to see if I could learn to levitate by doing lots of yoga!

Sabine: You seem to have progressed very quickly, mastering the 3rd series already at the age of 18 when you also went to Mysore to study with Sri K Pattabhi Jois. Can you tell us about your experiences there? Did you have to get used to the “Indian” style first or was the training comparable to what you’d done before in the US?