Finally, the fourth chapter of Patanjali’s Yoga Sutra is about liberation - Kaivalya Pada.



Sentence 33

ksana-pratiyogi parinama-aparanta nirgrahyah kramah ||33||

क्षणप्रतियोगी परिणामापरान्त निर्ग्राह्यः क्रमः ॥३३॥

kṣaṇa-pratiyogī pariṇāma-aparānta nirgrāhyaḥ kramaḥ ॥33॥

The experience of a sequencing process of moments and changes comes to an end, thus making change (krama) a real experience. ||33||

kṣaṇa = moment
pratiyogī = uninterrupted succession
pariṇāma = change; transformation
aparānta = death; end
nirgrāhyaḥ = (nom. from nigrāhya) recognizable; apprehensible; comprehensible
kramaḥ = (nom. from krama) succession; process; course; order; series

In a state of kaivalya, everything that seemed important to us – including time – totally fades into the background; we transcend the constant yearning for results, and are completely happy in the present moment. Having reached this state, we no longer think about the past or the future, which have in fact ceased to exist. All that exists is the here and now, the present moment; and this engenders total contentment, which is aptly expressed by the expression, “Hours do not strike for a happy man.”

Contact Cart
Your shopping cart is loading...