You were redirected depending of your saved language from your last visit. Back to German? (Zurück zu Deutsch?) Back to English?
Disable editing mode Edit Page
Edit in

The second Chapter of Patanjali’s Yoga Sutras - contains instructions for our Practice - Sadhana Pada.


Sentence 32

shaucha santosha tapah svadhyay-eshvarapranidhanani niyamah ||32||

शौच संतोष तपः स्वाध्यायेश्वरप्रणिधानानि नियमाः ॥३२॥

śauca saṁtoṣa tapaḥ svādhyāy-eśvarapraṇidhānāni niyamāḥ ॥32॥

Cleanliness (shaucha), contentment (santosha), self-discipline (tapas), learning from yourself (svadhyaya) and accepting your fate (iishvara-pranidhana) automatically translate into the practice of respect (niyama). ||32||

śauca = (iic.) inner and outer purity and cleanliness
saṁtoṣa = (iic.) contentment
tapaḥ = (acc. sg. n./nom. sg. n.) austerity; self-discipline
svādhyāya = (iic.) self-knowledge; learning from yourself; listening to yourself; paying heed to yourself
īśvara = (iic.) the personal God
praṇidhānāni = (acc. pl. n./nom. pl. n. ) devotion; trust
īśvara-praṇidhānāni = (acc. pl. n./nom. pl. n.) devotion to God; accepting one’s fate
niyamāḥ = (nom. pl. m. from niyama) rules of conduct vis-à-vis others


Niyama, which is systematically built on yama, means “respect toward oneself” or “rules of conduct vis-à-vis others.” Niyama teaches you how to treat yourself respectfully, based on fundamental guidelines that help you to deal with yourself and that are indispensable for a healthy and successful life.