The third chapter of Patanjali’s Yoga Sutras instructs us about the progression of our practice - Vibhuti Pada.



Sentence 11

sarvarthata ekagratayoh ksayodayau chittasya samadhi-parinamah ||11||

सर्वार्थता एकाग्रातयोः क्षयोदयौ चित्तस्य समाधिपरिणामः ॥११॥

sarvārthatā ekāgrātayoḥ kṣayodayau cittasya samādhi-pariṇāmaḥ ॥11॥

The transition to insight (samadhi-parinama) is characterized by the mutability in human beings (chitta) becoming progressively less scattered, whereas the tendency toward consolidation increases. ||11||

sarva = all; many
artha = related to
sarvārthata = state of mental scatteredness; many objects
ekāgratā = consolidation; concentration; one-pointedness; an object
kṣaya = decline; dwindle; cease; progressively less
udaya = to rise; to increase
citta = all that is mutable in human beings; mind
samādhi = transcendent state; absolute knowledge
pariṇāmaḥ = change; evolution

This is another transition within the three steps of ashtanga yoga. Whereas the transition from concentration, or dharana, to contemplation, or dhyana, is referred to as norodha-parinama, the next transition is called samadhi-parinama, which is the transition from contemplation, or dhyana, to enlightenment, or samadhi.

Contact Cart
Your shopping cart is loading...